news  

“The Ball’s Movement Was Clear to All” – R&A Explain Lowry’s Two-Shot Penalty

“The Ball’s Movement Was Clear to All” – R&A Explain Lowry’s Two-Shot Penalty

Understanding the Penalty Incident Involving Shane Lowry

During the second round of The Open, a notable incident occurred involving Irish golfer Shane Lowry, which resulted in a two-shot penalty. The R&A, the governing body of golf, provided an official statement explaining the situation and clarifying the rules that were applied.

Lowry’s ball moved during a practice swing at the 12th hole while he was preparing to play his second shot. This movement led to a two-stroke penalty under Rule 9.4, which governs situations where a ball is played as it lies or when a ball at rest is lifted or moved.

The R&A outlined three key factors that must be considered in such cases:

  • Did the ball leave its original position and come to rest on another spot?

    In Lowry’s case, the ball was observed to have moved from its initial location to a different spot on the course.

  • Was the ball’s movement to another spot discernible to the naked eye?

    The R&A confirmed that the movement of the ball, including the movement of the logo on the ball, was clearly visible without the need for any additional tools or equipment.

  • If the ball did come to rest on another spot and the movement was discernible to the naked eye, is it known or virtually certain that the player’s actions caused the ball to move?

    It was established that the ball moved immediately after Lowry’s club made contact with foliage near the ball during his practice swing. This action directly caused the ball to shift positions.

The R&A clarified that the naked eye test does not require the player to be looking at the ball when it moves. As long as the movement is visible, the rule applies regardless of whether the player was focused on the ball at the time.

According to the rules, if a ball moves due to the player’s actions, there is typically a one-stroke penalty, and the ball must be replaced to its original position. However, in this instance, Lowry played the ball from its new location, which meant he was playing from a wrong place. This led to a total penalty of two strokes.

This incident highlights the importance of understanding and adhering to the rules of golf, particularly when it comes to the movement of the ball. It also serves as a reminder that even minor actions, such as a practice swing, can have significant consequences on a player’s scorecard.

For those interested in following the latest developments in golf and other sports, staying updated with daily news updates can provide valuable insights into what is happening on and off the course. Whether it’s morning headlines or in-depth analysis, keeping informed ensures you are always ahead of the day.