news  

India vs England 2nd Test: Was Akash Deep’s Delivery Unfair? MCC Rules

India vs England 2nd Test: Was Akash Deep’s Delivery Unfair? MCC Rules

Clarifying the Controversy: Akash Deep’s Delivery and the Laws of Cricket

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), which is responsible for maintaining the laws of cricket, has officially confirmed that Akash Deep’s delivery that dismissed Joe Root during the recent Test match at Edgbaston was legal. This clarification came in response to a debate that arose after footage suggested that Deep’s back foot may have crossed the return crease, leading to questions about whether the delivery should have been called a no-ball.

The dismissal occurred on the second delivery of the tenth over when Akash Deep bowled Joe Root during the second Test between England and India. The wicket proved pivotal as it reduced England to 50/3 while chasing a target of 608 runs. Despite the controversy, the decision to allow the dismissal stood, with both the on-field umpires and the third umpire not calling a no-ball.

The Debate Around the Delivery

The controversy began when television footage showed Deep’s back foot appearing to touch outside the return crease. This led to discussions among fans and commentators, including former England batter Jonathan Trott, who questioned the legality of the delivery during a studio discussion. However, the on-field umpires, Chris Gaffaney and Sharfuddoula Saikat, along with third umpire Paul Reiffel, did not intervene, allowing the dismissal to stand.

Former India coach Ravi Shastri, who was commentating at the time, also supported the decision, stating that the delivery was legal. The MCC later provided a detailed explanation of the ruling, emphasizing that the legality of a delivery is determined by where the bowler’s foot first lands, not its position afterward.

Understanding the Law

According to Law 21.5.1 of the cricket rules, “For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride the bowler’s back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery.” This law clearly defines the moment when the back foot makes contact with the ground as the key factor in determining whether a delivery is legal.

The MCC further clarified that the position of the back foot at the moment it first touches the ground is what matters. As soon as any part of the foot touches the ground, that foot has landed, and the position at that moment is what is considered for a back-foot no-ball. In this case, the MCC explained that Deep’s back foot was within the return crease at the point of landing, even though some parts of his foot may have touched the ground outside the crease afterward.

The Outcome of the Match

Despite the controversy, England were eventually bowled out for 271 on the final day of the match. This result allowed India to level the series with a victory by 336 runs in the second Test of the five-match series. The outcome highlighted the importance of crucial wickets and the impact of decisions made during the game.

Additional Information

For those interested in following the latest developments in cricket, there are several resources available. Fans can check the IPL 2025 match schedules, squads, points table, and live scores for teams such as CSK, MI, RCB, KKR, SRH, LSG, DC, GT, PBKS, and RR. Additionally, the latest standings for the IPL Orange Cap and Purple Cap can be accessed for up-to-date information on top performers in the tournament.